Follow Us

Georgia Faith Community
Nurses Association
Log in
What is Faith Community Nursing?
What is a Faith Community Nurse? (FCN)

Faith Community Nursing practice is also known as parish or congregational nursing. Regardless of the name used by a faith community to identify the nurse who serves on its ministry staff, the nurse and the practice are guided by the Faith Community Nursing Scope & Standards of Practice published by the American Nurses Association (ANA).The American Nurses Association is the recognized professional organization for nurses in the United States. ANA sets universal standard for nursing care and professional performance common to all nurses engaged in clinical practice – Standards of Clinical Nursing Practice. Based on the generic standards, the American Nurses Association recognizes specialty nursing practice by identifying the specialty and delineating its unique scope and standards of practice. The Faith Community Nursing Scope & Standards of Practice were developed from the generic standards in cooperation with the Health Ministries Association, Inc., adopted and officially recognized by the ANA in 1998, published in 2005 and revised again 2012.

·  a minimum of a baccalaureate degree in nursing

·  five (5) plus years experience in medical surgical nursing

·  community assessment skills

·  health counseling skills

·  Community health experience (preferred)  Completion of the “standard curriculum for Faith Community nursing” developed by the International Parish Nurse Resource Center (2013 IPNRC merged with Church Health).

To find out when the next FCN Certification  class is

   offered at  Gwinnett Medical go toFaith Community Nursing Foundations in Faith

Qualifications of a FCN

Qualifications: Since Faith Community Nursing is an independent practice, the International Parish Nurse Resource Center specifies that the requirements for parish nursing include:

Roles of a Faith Community Nurse:

Roles: Faith Community nurses function within the parameters 

of seven (7) major roles. These are:

1. Health Educator   –    focusing on a variety of educational activities for all ages that explore the relationship between values, attitudes, lifestyle, faith and health.

2. Personal Health Counselor – assisting individuals to deal with health issues and problems and may include hospital, home, nursing home, etc. visits.

3. Referral Agent – providing congregational and community resources for healing and wellness.

4. Health Advocate – encouraging all systems (congregant, faith community, primary health resources) to find the best solution for healing and wholeness - body, mind and spirit.

5. Facilitator of Volunteers – recruiting and coordinating resources within the faith community to serve in its various health ministries.

6. Developer of Support Groups – facilitating the development of support groups to meet member needs and those of the external community.

7. Integrator of Faith and Health – seeking, in all activities and contacts, to promote the understanding of the relationship between faith and health.

The Foundations in Faith Community Nursing course is offered by Gwinnett Medical Center. 

2016 FCN Foundations Brochure and Registration Form.pdf

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software